Close

October 21, 2016

A day in the life: Maggie Lian, Creative Specialist

Name: Maggie Lian

What is your title? Creative Specialist

What does that mean? Essentially, I am part of the team that works with any graphics, branding, layout, or imagery a client may need for their company, whether it is digital or for print.

What’s your favorite thing about the Forum culture? Honestly I love how we are respected and treated as equals. We work together as a team and realize that if we drop the ball it may impact a team member achieving their deadline. Likewise, when we do something great, we are helping our fellow teammates succeed. In essence, this is a selfless, talented group of people and I love being a small part!

If you weren’t working at Forum, what do you think you would be doing? Wishing I had a job like what I currently have at Forum. And if that was absolutely, positively not possible, then I would love to run my own non-profit.

What social media platform do you use most often? Instagram and Pinterest

What might you find yourself doing around 10 a.m. on a regular work day? Knocking out the toughest part of my day’s deadlines. I am more productive in the morning.

What motto do you live by? Find joy in all seasons.

What are your top sources of news and how often do you check them? My husband and I try not to get too tangled up in today’s media, however we do like to stay up to speed by utilizing the more popular news networks: CNN, Fox, etc.

What do you like best about your job? I love starting from scratch with a project, developing the concept and branding and then watching it transform into the final piece.

What’s one thing you wish you knew as a recent college graduate? It’s the trials you face in life that help you to grow and step out of your comfort zone, not the easy times when everything is going your way.

What time do you get up? Around 5:30 a.m.

How many times do you snooze? If I’m working out that morning, then I don’t hit the snooze. If it’s a relaxed morning, three times.

How do you take your coffee? No coffee for me! Water please.

When you aren’t working what are you doing? Chilling with my hubby. Watching movies. Working out.

Tell us about your family. I married my best friend in a 200 year old church in Cades Cove National Park. We have one adorable labrador named Lady Bear. My grandmother is hoping our next child will be less furry. I have two brothers, both live in Georgia and one actually lives with my husband and I while he attends University of North Georgia. My parents live in Kenya, a country on the East Coast of Africa. I grew up traveling back and forth to Africa, volunteering at various orphanages. My parents became full time missionaries two days after my wedding, sold everything and have called Africa home ever since. My husband is from San Diego, which is where his family currently resides, including our two adorable nephews. We love traveling there as often as possible to soak up time with family. I guess between my parents and my husband’s, we love to travel and our vacation time fills up fast. But we adore our families and are beyond blessed to have such close relationships, despite our geography.

Describe yourself in one word. Thankful.